Click to HomeClick to Home

Go To Search
Boards and Commissions
Citizens participate in City government by serving
The City of Cedar Hill appreciates the volunteer spirit of its citizens. There are opportunities for interested citizens to serve on several boards and commissions. The City Council appoints members to these various boards and commissions each year.  Most of the positions have two-year terms.

To indicate your interest in serving on a board or commission, please complete an application and mail or bring to the office of the City Secretary, 4th floor, Government Center, 285 Uptown Blvd, Cedar Hill TX 75104.

For additional information, please call the Office of the City Secretary at 972.291.5100 ext. 1011.

Board of Adjustment

This five-member quasi-judicial board reviews requests for variances, administrative appeals, and special exceptions to the zoning ordinance. Meets at noon on a Tuesday, as needed.

Building Appeals and Advisory Board

This nine-member board has jurisdiction over appeals regarding building, mechanical, plumbing, and electrical codes. The Building Appeals and Advisory Board also acts as the Sign Appeals Board, hearing sign variances and making recommendations to the City Council. Membership includes one registered master plumber, one registered master electrician, two building contractors, one mechanical contractor, and four other citizens. The Board meets as needed, usually on a Monday at 7 p.m.

Capital Impact Fee Advisory Committee

This advisory committee is composed of not less than five members. Not less than 40% of the members must be representative of the real estate, development or building industries who are not employees or officials of a political subdivision or governmental entity. The committee advises and assists the City in adopting and updating land use assumptions, capital improvements plans and impact fees. Usually meets twice per year.

Cedar Hill Industrial Development Corporation Board

The board consists of five directors appointed by the City Council to serve for a term not to exceed six years. The corporation may issue obligations to finance all or part of the cost of one or more projects pursuant to the provisions of the Development Corporation Act of 1979, as amended. This corporation considers only industrial manufacturing projects that propose to use industrial revenue bonds to finance new or expanded projects. The City Council must approve all bond projects recommended by the IDC before bonds can be issued. Meets as needed.

Community Development Board

This seven-member board administers the 1/2-cent community development sales tax. It sets policies and programs for the use of the funds. The board meets quarterly and/or as needed at 7 p.m. (generally on a Thursday).

Economic Development Corporation Board

This board, consisting of five voting members and four ex officio members, administers the 1/2-cent economic development sales tax. This board sets economic development policies and administers certain incentive programs. The board meets the first Monday of each month at 6 p.m. and additionally as needed. Meetings are held on the fourth floor of the Government Center.

Main Street Development and Preservation Board

This nine-member advisory board is responsible for organizing and maintaining a community effort to revitalize Cedar Hill"s historic downtown. The board should be representative of the community and should serve as an advocate for downtown revitalization. The board meets the fourth Monday of each month at 6 p.m. in Conference Room D Cedar Hill Government Center. 

Neighborhood Advisory Board

This nine-member board is advisory to Neighborhood Services and the City Council relative to matters involving neighborhoods and community affairs. The board assists Neighborhood Services in the creation, development and implementation of programs designed to encourage, support and strengthen neighborhoods. The board also provides communication between neighborhoods and City Administration and serves as advocates for issues that impact and benefit the community at large.
This board meets at 6:15 p.m. the second Monday of each month in Conference Room D at the Cedar Hill Government Center.

Parks & Recreation Board

This nine-member board works with the Parks & Recreation staff on matters relating to this department. The board is advisory in nature to the City Council. The board meets the 3rd Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m.

Planning and Zoning Commission

The Planning and Zoning Commission is a board that is appointed by the City Council to serve in an advisory role regarding land use and land development issues.
The Commission itself is made up of seven citizens of Cedar Hill who are appointed to two-year, staggered terms. The Commission’s charge is to advise and recommend to the City Council issues regarding the City’s Master Plan for development, zoning changes, platting and site plan approval.
The Planning and Zoning Commission meets on the first and third Tuesdays of each month, as needed. Meetings are generally held at 6 p.m., in the Cedar Hill Room at the Cedar Hill Government Center. Meeting agendas are posted by the front door of the Government Center by the Friday afternoon before scheduled Planning and Zoning Commission meetings.
Other information is available from the Planning Department.

Tourism Advisory Board

The Tourism Advisory Board is responsible for conducting a comprehensive assessment of the city’s tourism potential and making recommendations to the City Council of activities, programs and expenditures that will increase tourism and visitors in Cedar Hill.   The Board shall consist of nine (9) voting members. The term will be for two years for the following groups (Chamber/Historical Downtown, CHISD, Country Day, Civic Clubs, Northwood University).  Members from the following groups will initially serve a one-year term and thereafter will be appointed to two-year terms (Hospitality, Hotel/Motel, Audubon, Cedar Hill State Park, Retail Sector). The number of ex officio members will be determined by the City Council as deemed appropriate. Members appointed shall serve in an advisory capacity only and shall receive no compensation for their services.

Tri-City Regional Animal Shelter Advisory Committee

This nine-member committee is advisory to the city councils of the cities of Cedar Hill, DeSoto and Duncanville on matters relating to the Tri-City Animal Shelter. Members are appointed to three-year terms, with each city having one appointment each year. The committee must include at least one licensed veterinarian, one county or municipal official, one person whose duties include daily operation of an animal shelter and one representative from an animal welfare organization. The Committee generally meets quarterly on a Wednesday at 7:00 p.m.

Zula B. Wylie Library Board
This nine-member board is advisory to the City Council regarding present and future needs of the library as well as its policies. The Board meets the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m.

HomeContact UsEmployee LoginSitemapPrint FriendlyEmail PageCopyright NoticesPowered by CivicPlusAccessibility