High Pointe Public Improvement District Number 1

High Pointe Lake View
Memo: New Cameras in High Pointe


  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 2nd Thursday of every month
  • High Pointé Baptist Church
    101 High Pointé Lane

Agenda for Thursday, September 10 meeting at 6:00 pm via zoom

High Pointe Cedar Hill Public Improvement District 1


High Pointe Public Improvement District (PID) Board Elections Cancelled


The High Pointe PID Board of directors cancelled an election to fill three vacant board positions. The three incumbent directors were unopposed by the August 20, 2020 deadline. The three directors, Kavin Brown, Ruby Martin, and Delores Shaw, will be officially appointed at the Cedar Hill City Council's regularly scheduled October 2014 meeting. The director's appointments will begin October 01, 2020 and end September 30, 2020.



In 1998, the residents of High Pointé subdivision petitioned to become the city’s first PID. The special district, established by State statute, levies an additional assessment on all properties within specific boundaries.

Typically a percentage of the appraised value of the property, the assessment is reflected on the annual tax statement and confers a special benefit on definable parts of the improvement district. Projects may include, but are not limited to:

  • landscaping, erection of fountains, distinctive lighting and signs
  • acquisition or construction of sidewalks, streets or other rights-of-way
  • establishment or improvement of parks
  • enhanced police patrol

Assessment & Appraisal

The High Pointé PID, created October 13, 1998, has a current assessment of $0.10 per $100 valuation. Example:

Appraised value $150,000 divided by $100 multiplied by $0.10 equals $150 per year

The PID is governed by five to seven, at-large directors appointed by the Cedar Hill City Council to serve for a period of two years, subject to the terms and conditions of the City Council approved by-laws established for the district.

District Profile

Board of Directors

President Delores Shaw
Vice President Kavin Brown
Treasurer Ruby Martin
Secretary J.D. Hemphill-McDonald